Board of Trustees

Welcome from the School Board

Nau mai, haere mai, tēnā koutou katoa

The West Park School Board of trustees is responsible for the governance and strategic direction of the school.  We employ the staff, set the School Charter, and approve the school’s budget to ensure we create and sustain a school where every student has the opportunity to thrive, staff enjoy the workplace, and families and the community feel engaged in supporting our children’s educational journey. 

We are proud to have the calibre of leadership, teaching staff, teacher aides, and support staff in our school.  They are a highly skilled group that are operating in our modern and contemporary learning spaces. We offer a broad curriculum to ensure our school turns out great people, not just well educated kids.

Sometimes you might still hear the nostalgic chant of ‘West is best’ echoing through the hills around Mt Kaukau.

Ko āu tamariki tā mātou tamariki, nau mai ki tā mātou whānau kura. Your children are our children, welcome to our school family.

Nat Henry


Our Board

> Nat Henry (Chair & Elected Member since June 2019)

Kia ora koutou. I’m Natalie (Nat) and I’m currently the Chair of the West Park School Board of Trustees.  I have three kids, two of whom are still at West Park and one who has moved from primary school to intermediate. We have staff at the school who are committed to providing a quality education for our children, and I feel privileged that I can contribute to creating an environment where all of our children can succeed.

> Stefan Kirkwood (Elected Member since June 2019)

Hi, my name is Stefan and I thoroughly enjoy representing parents on the Board of Trustees. The West Park community is important to me and I am dedicated to making a valuable contribution to it and ensuring that both students and staff are provided with an environment in which they can thrive.  

> Haley Marsh (Selected Member since November 2019)

Kia ora, ko Haley tōku ingoa. My husband and I have 2 wonderful daughters and we love to get out and about on the weekends and enjoy nature. I love being part of the West Park school community and connecting with families that live around us.


> Aaron Jordan (Elected Member since June 2019)

Kia ora, ko Aaron tōku ingoa. I have been a member of the West Park School Board of Trustees since June 2019. Our family has been part of the WPS community for more than 6 years. I am grateful to serve on the Board and represent the community to help WPS be the best school it can be.


> Prashant Bakshi (Co-opted Member since November 2020)

Prashant, one of our newest Board members, lives in Johnsonville and brings senior leadership and governance experience to the West Park School board. Prashant has held several senior leadership roles in the public sector and is currently the Chief Customer Officer at NZQA.

> Stu Ng (Elected Member since June 2019)

Ni hao, wo jiao Stu.  I have had a long affiliation with West Park as a past student, neighbour, and more recently a parent.  I’m privileged to also extend this relationship to serving on the Board and to help shape the culture, direction and values at our school to give our tamariki the best start we can to their educational journey.

> Michael Joseph  (Elected Staff Representative since January 2021)

Kia ora, I’m Michael and I am the staff representative on the Board of Trustees. 

> Luis Echegaray (Principal ex Officio)

Kia ora, ko Luis tōku ingoa. I have had the privilege of being Principal at West Park School since June 2013. Since then I have been rewarded by being part of a school community that looks to offer every student the opportunity to succeed through an inclusive, caring and engaging educational environment. I really enjoy nature, making things from timber, seeing the beauty in little things around me, and learning new skills. For me, ‘change’ is an exciting word filled with opportunities and rewards.